C’est la vie

Whenever I used to see pictures of people in exotic places, I would always get jealous. “Wow did you see that Anna is in Italy? She’s so lucky!” I never thought I would be in one of those places. But now I can say, I’ve been to a few. I didn’t want this blog to be specifically a Travel Blog but after spending a month around Europe, and having the time of my life, I may actually have something interesting to write about.

Catching an 8 hour bus to Paris may seem like a nightmare to some people. However for me, its a dream come true. ME, going to PARIS. The 4:30am wake up call didn’t phase me because at the end of the day, I would be eating snails under the Eiffel Tower. The bus ride wasn’t bad. I had a window seat, and the seat next to me was empty. I was glad to finally get there though. I caught a taxi to our hotel, where Jasmin was waiting for me. After months of booking this holiday, it was finally here! I was with my best friend, in PARIS. BONJOUR. That night we went and got dinner close to our hotel, after stopping in one place but the language barrier being an issue, we finally found somewhere with an English menu. If you are thinking this is where the wild night in Paris begins, you’re wrong. We had an early night that night, as we were both tired and wanted to make the most of the following day. The next day we caught the metro into the City Centre. Jasmin had been here a few days already so lucky we knew where to get off. As we walked out of the station, we were greeted by the Arc Di Triomph. We began walking down the main street of Paris, stopping for a cliche breakfast of croissants and coffee. We kept walking, through parks and eventually found the Louvre. I took another typical tourist snap here. I have to admit, Paris wasn’t exactly what I thought it would be at this point. I had heard so many stories, and maybe I had set my expectations too high. We kept walking and finally could see the Eiffel Tower in the near distance, almost covered by clouds on this grey day. And then there we were. Right underneath her. We walked down the grass patch, hoping to get a full shot of her, but there was fences up for maintenance. This wasn’t what I had pictured. Aren’t I supposed to be eating croissants underneath this stunning structure with a big smile on my face? Everyone always raved about Paris being the city of romance, why was I not loving it?

The next day, there was blue sky. This automatically put a smile on my face. The temperature was set to the high 20s and I knew that today would be a better day for exploring. And I was right. We went back to the Eiffel Tower, this time walking along the river, and eventually getting a full view of it. We found a cafe, right next to the tower, and had crepes for lunch. Finally my visions were becoming a reality! Seeing as the weather was nicer today, I decided I would climb the tower. I climbed the 700 steps in what turned out to be 30 degree heat, but the view was definitely worth it! I could see for miles. I walked around the outside so I could see the view from each angle and it did not disappoint. After my daily fitness, we walked along the main streets, stopped in a park to ‘people watch’ which is apparently what French people love to do (even in cafes, all the seats are positioned facing the street) We did some shopping, and finally I could see why everyone raved about this place. Even though my first impression wasn’t the best, by the end of our 3 day visit my mind had been changed. Next stop, Santorini! IMG_2183IMG_2202IMG_2269

Leave a comment